Day 1 – #12BeersofXmas 2016

Day 1 – #12BeersofXmas 2016

wp_20161220_001

 

Brewery – The Kernel Brewery

Location – Spa Road, that there London.

The Drink: Mosaic Pale Ale

ABV: 5.2% – 500ml

Style: Pale Ale, Mosaic

The debate was whether I do this post or Golden Pints first.  This won out mainly because I got to drink, not use my memory and provide only a slight spoiler.

Kernel used to be a by-word for sediment in the rather condescending way us northerners feel the need to belittle our big brother brewers from the big smoke as the gain all the headlines with what we think are only average beers.

I remember once walking into the Euston Tap and seeing Kernel’s “Table Beer” (a sub 3% beer) on at some ridiculous price per pint for the ABV.  Oddly said Table beer is something I still have to buy and try and its not like I can’t get hold of it, its in my main outlet, staring me in the face every time I go in as if to say “you don’t want those single hop style things, try me, go on, make today the day.”.

Eventually I will get of this specific beer hump but over the past year it has been Kernel above any other non-northern brewery that I’ve gone for whenever it has been available and I have never once been disappointed, not once.  Throw in one of my top 3 hops in Mosaic and what is my most disorganised #12beersofXmas to date was made easier by this beer presenting itself as a great starting off point.

The sediment is still there (as if that was ever a bad thing) and as you can see from the above photo, it pours perfectly clear.  The fizz upon opening subsides to a massive, massive hop aroma and it drinks with light carbonation, a hoppy, bitter yet sweetish taste and a clean aftertaste.

This is beer is big, a Kernel massive.

Not to be confused with the Kersal Massive

 

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

