The Runaway Brewery – 5 bottles of Beer

So this is the second in my series of beer bottle reviews.

I’d previously reviewed Shindigger’s three beers (which there were at the time) and now I’m going with another local brewer and their 4 5 beers.

So, as stated in part 1…..I state again, for the record, that I pay for my own beers and I am in no way affiliated with any of the breweries I review…

…though they do have a very nice t-shirt (which I don’t have either *cough*)

Ladies and gentlemen I give you…

Runaway Brewery

It is actually quite surreal to have been writing this over a period of a few week and then Runaway beers get national exposure they got on ITV’s “This Morning”

So why only four bottles in the picture below?

WP_20141113_003

Well, because at the time I only had four of them (duh!), but I had previously drunk their “Oktoberfest” (see below) at a venue in Manchester but hadn’t found it to buy and have at home.  Obviously this largely pointless paragraph is a waste of time writing and reading because I did eventually buy it so I could review it as part of this post, but I do like order.  I was going to drink them in increasing ABV, but again the out of step blue labelled beer spiked it.  I don’t like this paragraph, naughty wicked Zoot.

Get on with it…

So with the exception of Oktoberfest, I’ve had all the beers on keg (key-keg?) over the months the brewery has been producing, quite ubiquitous around the Manchester area at the moment and with a presence at many a beer festival too.

 Pale Ale (4.7%)

A well carbonated brew with good head retention, it pours clear and straw/light gold colour.  Citrus on the nose, light and crisp in the mouth with a citrus flavour and a bitter finish.

WP_20141113_004

IPA (5.5%)

The IPA was had slightly less fizz than the Pale Ale.  Pouring clear and a light amber colour it also maintained it head.  A rounded drink, biscuity, hoppy, bit of maltiness coming through too and less bitter in the aftertaste than the Pale.

WP_20141113_006

There, that is better, the full product range of the 5 beers.  Such a simple yet eye-catching logo, design and colour scheme.

WP_20141114_001

Oktoberfest (5.4%)

Story time – I was serving at the Indy Man Beer Con and (one of) the brewers came over (he’s always wearing the t-shirt – I say t-shirt, it might be an all over body tattoo, I’m not sure).  I mentioned that I’d had the Oktoberfest and that I’d also been to the real thing (well, the over subscribed Munich one).  My verdict was that it tasted was like an ale but tasted and drunk just like the lager efforts you get in Germany.

Cue the brewer doing a fair few fist pumps with his non-beer-glass-holding hand.

tooooohot

Oddly, at home, where I don’t chill my beer as much it had altogether different characteristics.  Pouring dark amber with a head worthy of any Stein, it had malty overtones on the nose.  The taste was more oak and woody than previous.  It has to be said I prefered it this way than the first time around.  Very smooth.

WP_20141117_001

American Brown Ale (5.7%)

This has been enjoyed on keg and cask (first time ever) at the Salford Beer Festival.  I actually did a #beermatch with this quite by accident.  Roast Chicken in a chili peppers, garlic and tomato sauce with pasta.

WP_20141119_001

It pours a brown shade of amber, less carbonation than the previous 3 but still retained its head well.  Malty aromas and malty, toffee/caramel taste with a very mellow finish.

Smoked Porter (6%)

Porters, probably still my favourite style of beer.  How does this one rate?

WP_20141119_003

It pours black and smooth, bit more carbonation than the Brown Ale but with equally good head retention.  The aroma is obviously smoke but roasted coffee comes through too.  A very light smoke, it lingers but is not overbearing, it allows the additional flavours of coffee and liquorice to come through.

 

So there you have five very good beers.  Five highly drinkable and moreish beers.  If I were to recommend one to try first it would be the Smoked Porter.

The only worry is the running out of colours for any new beers they might produce, but this core five more than suffices and are excellent examples of the 5 styles (well 4 if you are being picky) that they portray.

Look out for them.

Look out for the “t-shirt”.

 

As a side note, these are not to be confused with Green King’s “Metropolitan” range.
2 thoughts on “The Runaway Brewery – 5 bottles of Beer

Leave a Reply

